You are here:

Reaffirming the Transatlantic Partnership

Reaffirming the Transatlantic Partnership - A Pledge of Unity and Resolve - A Project of AJC

We, the undersigned, are grateful inheritors of the postwar regime of transatlantic security bestowed on us by visionary American and European leaders who were inspired by common values and united against common threats. We rise in defense of the precious alliance of democracies—and its treaties, institutions and norms—that has sustained peace and generated prosperity from the Cold War to the present day. As students of history, we know all too well the terrible price that has been paid when these principles were not respected and protected.

Resolved to preserve our essential alliance—and refusing to allow the inevitable differences that arise even among the closest partners to jeopardize our bond—we use this occasion, when basic assumptions are being challenged and, at times, debased, to recommit to the shared ideals and precepts on which our nations have relied since the end of the Second World War.

To this end, we are united in reaffirming:
● Our commitment to the rules-based international order, in which unprovoked violations of borders are punished, legal mechanisms are empowered to address global challenges while honoring national sovereignty, and standards are maintained to safeguard universal human rights;
● Our confidence in NATO—the indispensable bulwark of peace and security for almost 70 years—and our appreciation of the organization’s inestimable strategic value to the United States and its 28 transatlantic allies;
● Our respect for the European Union, which—from its inception as the European Coal and Steel Community to its current 28-member configuration—has kept historically fractious Europe whole and free, and proven to be the most ambitious and successful peace project in modern history;
● Our determination to assure the integrity of the West’s intelligence, law enforcement and security agencies, on whose professionalism, cooperation and responsiveness we all rely to protect us from dangers both foreign and domestic, of state and non-state origin;
● Our defense of democracy and our support of appropriate measures to counter appeals to extremism, xenophobia and all forms of bigotry; uphold a free and independent press; thwart and deter cyberattacks; and block attempts at electoral interference.

In this defining moment, we urge other political and diplomatic leaders who share our concerns and convictions to join us in this pledge—and stand together, stakeholders in democratic societies, allied against common dangers and in pursuit of common
opportunities in an evolving world. 

Madeleine Albright
Secretary of State of the U.S., 1997-2001
John Baird
Minister of Foreign Affairs of Canada, 2011-2015
Joe Biden
Vice President of the U.S., 2009-2017
Tony Blair
Prime Minister of the United Kingdom, 1997-2007
John Boehner
Speaker of the U.S. House of Representatives, 2011-2015
Bob Dole
Presidential Nominee, 1996; U.S. Senator, 1969-1996
Joschka Fischer
Vice Chancellor and Minister of Foreign Affairs of Germany,
Franco Frattini
Minister of Foreign Affairs of Italy, 2002-2004 and 2008-
2011; European Commissioner for Justice, Freedom, and
Security, 2004-2008
Paolo Gentiloni
Prime Minister of Italy, 2016-2018
Stephen Hadley
National Security Advisor of the U.S., 2005-2009
Toomas Ilves
President of Estonia, 2006-2016
Wolfgang Ischinger
Munich Security Conference Chair, 2008–present;
Ambassador of Germany to the U.S., 2001-2006
Ioannis Kasoulides
Minister of Foreign Affairs of Cyprus, 1997-2003 and
Bronisław Komorowski
President of Poland, 2010-2015
Aleksander Kwaśniewski
President of Poland, 1995-2005
Joe Lieberman
Vice Presidential Nominee, 2000;
U.S. Senator, 1989-2013
Daniel Mitov
Minister of Foreign Affairs of Bulgaria, 2014-2017
Miguel Ángel Moratinos
Minister of Foreign Affairs of Spain, 2004-2010
Sam Nunn
Senate Armed Services Committee Chairman, 1987-1995;
U.S. Senator, 1972-1997
Ana de Palacio y del Valle-Lersundi
Minister of Foreign Affairs of Spain, 2002-2004
Leon Panetta
Secretary of Defense of the U.S., 2011-2013;
Director of the CIA, 2009-2011
Solomon Passy
Minister of Foreign Affairs of Bulgaria, 2001-2005
Susan Rice
National Security Advisor of the U.S., 2013-2017
Antonis Samaras
Prime Minister of Greece, 2012-2015
George Shultz
Secretary of State of the U.S., 1982-1989
Radosław Sikorski
Minister of Foreign Affairs of Poland, 2007-2014
Giulio Terzi di Sant’Agata
Minister of Foreign Affairs of Italy, 2011-2013
Manuel Valls
Prime Minister of France, 2014-2016
Vaira Vīķe-Freiberga
President of Latvia, 1999-2007
Alexandr Vondra
Minister of Defense of Czech Republic, 2010-2012
Emanuelis Zingeris
Chair, Foreign Affairs Committee, Parliament of Lithuania,

More at: