You are here:

The European Medal of Tolerance

On the 16th of October 2012 Croatian President Ivo Josipovic and former Serbian President Boris Tadic received the ECTR European Medal of Tolerance for their "contributions to tolerance, honesty, moral courage and reconciliation" in Europe.

Ceremony located in the European Parliament was attended by over 200 participants including many ambassadors, MEPs and journalists.

President of the European Parliament Martin Schulz and Co-Chairmen of the European Council on Tolerance and Reconciliation Aleksander Kwasniewski and Moshe Kantor stressed Tadic's and Josipovic's role in promoting reconciliation in the Western Balkans and opening possibilities for the region's progress on the way to EU membership.

Voicing his gratitude for the award both, Josopovic and Tadic said that the medal was a recognition of tolerance and dialog not just in Serbia and Croatia, but in the rest of the Western Balkans, especially Bosnia and Herzegovina, where Bosniaks, Serbs and Croats live alongside each other.